$restriction.code /sports/wrest/2017-18/releases/20180304oqk7u5

Ohio Takes Fifth At MAC Championships; Kowalski Second

Ohio Takes Fifth At MAC Championships; Kowalski Second

MT. PLEASANT, Mich. – Ohio wrestling wrapped up the 2018 Mid-American Conference Championships finishing fifth with 84.5 team points Sunday.

Ohio RS sophomore Kade Kowalski dropped a 9-0 major decision to Grant Leeth from Missouri in the championship match at 149-pounds. Kowalski faced off against Eastern Michigan's Kyle Springer, losing by fall in the true-second place match for the automatic bid for the NCAA Championship.

Kowalski finished second overall at the Championships to earn Honorable Mention All-MAC. 

Junior Cameron Kelly advanced to the third-place match at 133-pounds after beating NIU's Alijah Jeffery 8-0 via major decision. Kelly was unable to wrestle in the third-place match due to medical forfeit but earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships with the fourth-place finish.

141-pound RS freshman Mario Guillen advanced to the third-place match picking up a major decision over Buffalo's Jason Estevez, 12-3. Guillen finished fourth after being pinned by Eastern Michigan's Sa'Derian Perry. 

RS freshman Hunter Yeargan finished in fifth-place at 184-pounds with a pin over Buffalo's Brett Perry. Earlier in the day, Yeargan dropped a decision to Missouri's  Canten Marriott, 5-2.

Freshman 197-pounder Aaron Naples took fifth winning the fifth-place match by medical forfeit over Central Michigan's Jordan Atienza. Earlier in the tournament, Naples lost a major decision of Joe Ariola of Buffalo, 13-2.

At-large bids for the NCAA Championships will be announced Monday while the selection show will be broadcast on Wednesday at 6 p.m. ET on NCAA.com. The 2018 NCAA Wrestling Championship will be held March 15-17 in Cleveland.

Consolation Semifinals
Cameron Kelly (Ohio) 25-5 won by major decision over Alijah Jeffery (Northern Illinois) 15-16 (MD 8-0)
Mario Guillen (Ohio) 10-5 won by major decision over Jason Estevez (Buffalo) 9-9 (MD 12-3)
Larry Early (Old Dominion) 27-10 won by major decision over Cullen Cummings (Ohio) 10-15 (MD 9-0)
Canten Marriott (Missouri) 24-6 won by decision over Hunter Yeargan (Ohio) 15-12 (Dec 5-2)
Joe Ariola (Buffalo) 13-10 won by major decision over Aaron Naples (Ohio) 8-14 (MD 13-2)
Stephen Suglio (Kent State) 19-9 won by fall over Zack Parker (Ohio) 17-15 (Fall 4:24) 

First Place
Grant Leeth (Missouri) 22-2 won by major decision over Kade Kowalski (Ohio) 10-10 (MD 9-0)

Third Place Match
Sa`Derian Perry (Eastern Michigan) 15-15 won by fall over Mario Guillen (Ohio) 10-6 (Fall 1:55)
Anthony Tutolo (Kent State) 28-11 won by medical forfeit over Cameron Kelly (Ohio) 25-6 (M. For.) 

Fifth Place
Caden McWhirter (Northern Illinois) 9-11 won by fall over Cullen Cummings (Ohio) 10-16 (Fall 3:31)
Aaron Naples (Ohio) 9-14 won by medical forfeit over Jordan Atienza (Central Michigan) 19-13 (M. For.)
Hunter Yeargan (Ohio) 16-12 won by fall over Brett Perry (Buffalo) 8-16 (Fall 3:25)
Caleb Gossett (Northern Illinois) 15-15 won by decision over Zack Parker (Ohio) 17-16 (Dec 5-3)

 Final Team Standings:
1.  Missouri, 177.0
2.  Central Michigan, 125.0
3.  Eastern Michigan, 120.5
4.  Kent State, 98.0
5.  Ohio, 84.5
6.  Buffalo, 81.0
7.  Old Dominion, 80.0
8.  Northern Illinois, 78.0