$restriction.code /sports/wsoc/spec-rel/110316aab.html

Milesky Earns MAC Postseason Honors

Milesky Earns MAC Postseason Honors

Nov. 3, 2016

ATHENS, Ohio – Ohio women’s soccer freshman Alivia Milesky was named to the All-Mid-American Conference Second Team and to the MAC All-Freshman Team, the league announced today.

Milesky (Plain City, Ohio) led the Bobcats’ offensively this season, scoring four goals, which tied the team lead. The midfielder also registered three assists and recorded 11 points for Ohio. She registered 23 total shots with 11 of them on goal for a .478 shot on goal percentage. Milesky played in all 18 games for Ohio, starting 13 of them, and scored all four of her goals in MAC play, registering four goals, one assist and nine points during the conference season.

Milesky’s first career goal came Sept. 25 at Toledo, where she headed the ball past the keeper off of a free kick. Milesky then registered her next two goals on Oct. 20 in Ohio’s 3-1 win against Ball State. Milesky’s first goal at the time tied the game for Ohio, with her final goal coming early in the second half to solidify the victory. Milesky then scored her final goal of the season on Oct. 27 against Kent State, where Milesky headed the ball off of an Ohio corner kick, at the time, giving the Bobcats an early lead.

This is the second-straight year that Ohio has had someone named to the All-Freshman Team and the first time since 2012 that the Bobcats had someone named to the All-MAC Second Team.

2016 All-MAC First Team
Alyssa Heintschel, Ball State, GK
Leah Mattingly, Ball State, D
Lorina White, Ball State, D
Alexis Pelafas, Central Michigan, F
Eliza Van De Kerkhove, Central Michigan, MF
Ellie Tillar, Eastern Michigan, MF
Paige Culver, Kent State, D
Jenna Hellstrom, Kent State, F
Taylor Sarver, Northern Illinois, F
Isa Echeverri, Toledo, MF
Alyssa Burke, Western Michigan, MF

2016 All-MAC Second Team
Chay McNitt, Ball State, MF
Erica Hubert, Bowling Green, F
Julia Benati, Buffalo, MF
Angel Hart, Buffalo, D
Carissima Cutrona, Buffalo, F
Madison Pogarch, Central Michigan, D
Kaylin Williams, Eastern Michigan, GK
Donavan Capehart, Kent State, F
Abbie Lawson, Kent State, MF
Brittany Maisano, Kent State, D
Alivia Milesky, Ohio, MF
Kiersten Johnson, Toledo, F
Liz Abro, Western Michigan, MF

2016 Offensive Player of the Year
Jenna Hellstrom, Kent State

2016 Defensive Player of the Year
Lorina White, Ball State

2016 Freshman of the Year
Sabrina McNeil, Eastern Michigan

2016 Coach of the Year
Rob Marinaro, Kent State

2016 All-Freshman Team
Ashely Amato, Akron, Defender
Julia Elvbo, Ball State, Forward
Sam Kambol, Ball State, Forward
Yela Ziswiler, Ball State, Defender
Maureen Kennedy, Bowling Green, Defender
Gurjeena Jandu, Buffalo, Defender
Marle Bringard, Central Michigan, Midfielder
Sabrina McNeill, Eastern Michigan, Forward
Sierra Henderson-Muschett, Kent State, Defender
Regan Fleck, Miami, Defender
Alivia Milesky, Ohio, Midfielder