$restriction.code /sports/wswimdive/2018-19/releases/20180927lm24n2

Ohio Swimming and Diving Set for Annual Green and White Meet

Ohio Swimming and Diving Set for Annual Green and White Meet

ATHENS, Ohio – The Ohio swimming and diving team opens the 2018-19 season with the annual Green and White intra-squad meet at 3:30 p.m. on Friday (Sept. 28).

"The staff and I are really really excited to see the team in a meet situation," said first-year head coach Mason Norman. "For most of the team, this will be the first time our staff has been able to watch them race outside of practice. We will have an opportunity on Friday to watch some athletes try different events that may develop into second and third events at the championship meet. Our goal as a team will always be to have fun, race hard, execute the race plan, and develop with each swim as we progress throughout the season towards the Invitational in November and MAC Championships at the end of the season."

Below are the events that the Bobcats are set to compete in on Friday.

200-yard Medley Relay

1000-yard Freestyle

200-yard Freestyle

100-yard Backstroke

100-yard Breaststroke

200-yard Butterfly

50-yard Freestyle

1 Meter Diving

100-yard Freestyle

200-yard Backstroke

200-yard Breaststroke

500-yard Freestyle

100-yard Butterfly

3 Meter Diving

200-yard Individual Medley

200-yard Freestyle Relay

Head coach Mason Norman begins his first season at the helm of the Ohio swimming and diving team.  Norman, a native of Duluth, Ga., competed as a student-athlete at Wingate, accumulating 22 All-American honors, a spot on the NCAA Division II national championship 400 free relay team in 2010 and competed in the 2012 Olympic Trials in the 100-meter freestyle. Entering his coaching career, Norman was a graduate assistant before being promoted to interim assistant coach at the University of Tennessee proceeded on to a short time at Utah before he joined the Kentucky staff, where he spent his previous five years, his final year as the associate head coach.

Britni Fisher begins her stint as the new diving coach, while Carlye Ellis begins her time as the new assistant swim and coach.

Fisher, a former diver at Illinois, spent two years as a graduate assistant at Bryant prior to joining the Ohio staff. Fisher's second season at Bryant saw the women's swimming and diving program capture the NEC Championship crown for the first time in program history. She currently holds the Illinois school records for the one-meter (298.27) and three-meter (319.65) springboards and maintains the third highest platform score (162.80). Fisher is a four-time varsity letter winner, a four-time Illini Outstanding Diver of the Year and qualified for the NCAA Zone Championships.

Ellis, a Texas four-time varsity letter winner, two-time NCAA Division I All-American and Big 12 champion, spent three years as the assistant swimming and diving coach at Cornell prior to joining Ohio's staff. In just three seasons, Ellis helped Cornell swimmers rewrite the school's record book setting new school records in more than 10 individual events and in three relay events. Additionally, Cornell posted 70 times that rank among the top 10 all-time fastest swims along with three relay records and 22 other times that have joined the list.

Ohio returns seniors Emily Davis (Lexington, Ky.), Olivia Dillon (Newcastle, Aus.), Ana Henderson (Danville, Calif.), Mackenzie Hornstra (Naperville, Ill.), Nicole Hughes (Cleveland, Ohio), Emily Ortner (Concord, Calif.), Corrin Van Lanen (Green Bay, Wis.), Lexie White (Waxhaw, N.C.), and Maddie Wyke (Columbus, Ind.).  

This year's junior class of returners consists of Mackenzie Caruthers (Hilliard, Ohio), Annie Gosselin (Naperville, Ill.), Emilia Lahtinen (Ylojarvi, Finland), Ireland Littlejohn (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Katherine Redden (Fort Thomas, Ky.), and Ryleigh Tuck-Macalla (Bay Village, Ohio).

Sophomores include: Carolyn Bischoff (New Hudson, Mich.), Katherine Garrity (Eagan, Minn.), Samantha Glass (Villa Hills, Ky.), Abigail Jordan (West Chester, Ohio), Katelyn O'Brien (Williams Bay, Wis.), and Hannah Schlegel (Birdsboro, Pa.).

Ohio welcomes eight freshmen to the roster to begin the season. Athena Aravantinou (Bethesda, Md.), Madison Haschemeyer (Springfield, Ill.), Taylor Miller (Latrobe, Pa.), Madeline Kenyon (Dayton, Ohio), Rebekah Klem (Columbiana, Ohio), Kelsey Morgan (Pickerington, Ohio), Cloe Pace (Naperville, Ill.) and Kendra Sheehan (Columbus, Ohio), will all make their collegiate debut for Ohio this season.

Ohio also welcomes two transfer junior's Chastity Haxton (Englewood, Fla.) and Courtney Perrett (Durban, South Africa), both coming to Ohio from Indian River State College in Florida.

The Bobcats finished the 2017-18 season at the Mid-American Conference Championships with a seventh-place finish and a total of 253 points scored. Akron was named champion with a final total of 827.5 points earned.

Van Lanen was named First Team All-MAC for the second year in a row after her performance throughout the week.

The Bobcats will begin the fall portion of the 2018-19 regular season in Athens next weekend, when the Bobcats host Miami Saturday, Oct. 6 at 11 a.m. ET inside the Ohio University Aquatic Center.