$restriction.code /sports/wswimdive/2018-19/releases/20181003m36v89

Ohio Swim and Dive Hosts Miami for Regular Season Opener

Ohio Swim and Dive Hosts Miami for Regular Season Opener

ATHENS, Ohio –The Ohio swimming and diving team opens the 2018-19 regular season on Saturday, Oct. 6, when they host Mid-American Conference foe Miami. The meet is set to begin at 11 a.m. at the Ohio University Aquatics Center.

"The team is looking forward to hosting Miami at home this weekend," said first-year head coach Mason Norman. "They are a solid MAC program consistently and will provide a great opportunity for our girls to race competition outside of our own team. I am eager to see how we respond to a true meet environment with our mental approach and continue to show progress toward building a championship culture."

400-yard Medley Relay
1000-yard Freestyle
200-yard Freestyle
100-yard Backstroke
100-yard Breaststroke
200-yard Butterfly
50-yard Freestyle

3-meter Diving

100-yard Freestyle
200-yard Backstroke
200-yard Breaststroke
500-yard Freestyle
100-yard Butterfly

1-meter Diving

400-yard Individual Medley
400-yard Freestyle Relay

The Bobcats opened up their 2018-19 season in Athens, Ohio after competing in their annual Green and White intra-squad scrimmage.

Event Winners
200-yard medley relay: Madison Haschemeyer; Emilia Lahtinen, Corrin Van Lanen, Madeline Kenyon 1:48.60
1000-yard freestyle: Hannah Schlegel; 10:18.27
200-yard freestyle: Madison Haschemeyer; 1:55.24
100-yard backstroke: Athena Aravantinou; 59.21
100-yard breaststroke: Emilia Lahtinen; 1:06.63
200-yard butterfly: Samantha Glass; 2:06.27
50-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen; 23:84

3-meter diving: Taylor Miller

100-yard freestyle: Katherine Garrity; 55.99
200-yard backstroke: Samantha Glass; 2:07.86
200-yard breaststroke: Emilia Lahtinen; 2:23.68
500-yard freestyle: Hannah Schlegel; 5:04.25
100-yard butterfly: Corrin Van Lanen; 55.85

1-meter diving: Nicole Hughes

200-yard IM: Samantha Glass; 2:10.98
400-yard freestyle relay: Madison Haschemeyer, Corrin Van Lanen, Katherine Garrity, Ana Henderson; 3:37.76

Ohio swim and dive welcome Miami as they are coming off a 52-248 loss against Michigan and a 190-108 win over Oakland (Sept. 28). Highlighting the RedHawks efforts in their opening weekend were Emma Bradely, Molly Zilch, Anna Martin, Peyton Rayburn, Izzy Herb, Abby Stone and Ella Moynihan. Bradley was third in the 1000-yard freestyle, Zilch was third in the 200 free, Martin placed third in the 200-yard breaststroke and Rayburn, Herb, Stone and Moynihan together placed third overall in the 400-yard freestyle relay.

Miami diver, Maddie Folta, scored the highest amount the Miami women for a fifth-place finish in the three-meter diving event and a seventh-place finish in the one-meter diving event.

The Bobcats last dual against Miami was in the 2016-17 season where Ohio fell to the RedHawks, 192-108, at Corwin M. Nixon Aquatic Center on Nov. 5, 2016. The meet concluded with Ohio winning five first-place finishes and two second-place dive finishes in the one-meter and three-meter events.

Swim Event Winners for Ohio
200-yard freestyle: Mikayla Herich; 1:51.41
200-yard butterfly: Annie Gosselin; 2:04.41
50-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen; 23.37
100-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen; 51.54
100-yard butterfly: Corrin Van Lanen; 55.94

Dive Event Runner Ups for Ohio
1-meter dive event: Olivia Dillon; 264.90

3-meter dive event: Olivia Dillon; 267.82

Head coach Mason Norman begins his first season at the helm of the Ohio swimming and diving team.  Norman, a native of Duluth, Ga., competed as a student-athlete at Wingate, accumulating 22 All-American honors, a spot on the NCAA Division II national championship 400 free relay team in 2010 and competed in the 2012 Olympic Trials in the 100-meter freestyle. Entering his coaching career, Norman was a graduate assistant before being promoted to interim assistant coach at the University of Tennessee proceeded on to a short time at Utah before he joined the Kentucky staff, where he spent his previous five years, his final year as the associate head coach.

Britni Fisher begins her stint as the new diving coach, while Carlye Ellis begins her time as the new assistant swim and coach.

Fisher, a former diver at Illinois, spent two years as a graduate assistant at Bryant prior to joining the Ohio staff. Fisher's second season at Bryant saw the women's swimming and diving program capture the NEC Championship crown for the first time in program history. She currently holds the Illinois school records for the one-meter (298.27) and three-meter (319.65) springboards and maintains the third highest platform score (162.80). Fisher is a four-time varsity letter winner, a four-time Illini Outstanding Diver of the Year and qualified for the NCAA Zone Championships.

Ellis, a Texas four-time varsity letter winner, two-time NCAA Division I All-American and Big 12 champion, spent three years as the assistant swimming and diving coach at Cornell prior to joining Ohio's staff. In just three seasons, Ellis helped Cornell swimmers rewrite the school's record book setting new school records in more than 10 individual events and in three relay events. Additionally, Cornell posted 70 times that rank among the top 10 all-time fastest swims along with three relay records and 22 other times that have joined the list.

Ohio returns seniors Emily Davis (Lexington, Ky.), Olivia Dillon (Newcastle, Aus.), Ana Henderson (Danville, Calif.), Mackenzie Hornstra (Naperville, Ill.), Nicole Hughes (Cleveland, Ohio), Emily Ortner (Concord, Calif.), Corrin Van Lanen (Green Bay, Wis.), Lexie White (Waxhaw, N.C.), and Maddie Wyke (Columbus, Ind.). 

This year's junior class of returners consists of Mackenzie Caruthers (Hilliard, Ohio), Annie Gosselin (Naperville, Ill.), Emilia Lahtinen (Ylojarvi, Finland), Ireland Littlejohn (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Katherine Redden (Fort Thomas, Ky.), and Ryleigh Tuck-Macalla (Bay Village, Ohio).

Sophomores include: Carolyn Bischoff (New Hudson, Mich.), Katherine Garrity (Eagan, Minn.), Samantha Glass (Villa Hills, Ky.), Abigail Jordan (West Chester, Ohio), Katelyn O'Brien (Williams Bay, Wis.), and Hannah Schlegel (Birdsboro, Pa.).

Ohio welcomes eight freshmen to the roster to begin the season. Athena Aravantinou (Bethesda, Md.), Madison Haschemeyer (Springfield, Ill.), Taylor Miller (Latrobe, Pa.), Madeline Kenyon (Dayton, Ohio), Rebekah Klem (Columbiana, Ohio), Kelsey Morgan (Pickerington, Ohio), Cloe Pace (Naperville, Ill.) and Kendra Sheehan (Columbus, Ohio), will all make their collegiate debut for Ohio this season.

Ohio also welcomes two transfer junior's Chastity Haxton (Englewood, Fla.) and Courtney Perrett (Durban, South Africa), both coming to Ohio from Indian River State College in Florida.

After the conclusion of this meet, the Bobcats will head to Huntington, W. Va. on Friday, Oct. 19 to face Marshall. The meet is scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. ET.