$restriction.code /sports/wswimdive/2018-19/releases/20181031kuuj9s

Ohio Swim and Dive Travel To Eastern Michigan For Second Mid-American Conference Dual Meet

Ohio Swim and Dive Travel To Eastern Michigan For Second Mid-American Conference Dual Meet

ATHENS, Ohio – The Ohio swimming and diving team (1-1, 0-1 MAC) will travel to Ypsilanti, Mich. to battle Eastern Michigan (2-0, 1-0 MAC) on Saturday, Nov. 3 for its second Mid-American Conference dual meet of the 2018-19 season. The meet is set to begin at 1 p.m. in Jones Natatorium.

"The team is really looking forward to taking on Eastern in our first MAC road test of the season," said first-year head coach Mason Norman. "Eastern is an extremely well coached team that is consistently great at the end of the season. We have an opportunity this weekend to continue to grow as a unit as we piece together race plans and strategies leading into the Invite in two weeks in Columbus. October is the hardest month of the season for any team that trains at a high level and to have a meet coming out of some great training weeks is important for all of us to see where we are."

The Bobcats traveled to Huntington, W. Va. and secured their first win of the 2018-19, "Norman Era", season over the Herd of Marshall, 169-131. Ohio is now 1-1 overall and 0-1 in the MAC. Event winners for the meet included senior swimmer Ana Henderson (Danville, Calif.), sophomore swimmer, Samantha Glass (Villa Hills, Ky.), senior swimmer, Corrin Van Lanen (Green Bay, Wis.), redshirt-junior diver, Olivia Dillon (Newcastle, Aus.), junior swimmer, Emilia Lahtinen (Ylojarvi, Finland), sophomore swimmer, Hannah Schlegel (Birdsboro, Pa.), and senior diver, Nicole Hughes (Cleveland, Ohio).

Event Winners
1000-yard freestyle: Ana Henderson; 10:30.05
200-yard butterfly: Samantha Glass; 2:06.58
50-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen; 24.22
1-meter diving: Olivia Dillon; 244.50
200-yard backstroke: Samantha Glass; 2:06.88
200-yard breaststroke: Emilia Lahtinen; 2:22.95
500-yard freestyle: Hannah Schlegel; 5:01.93
100-yard butterfly: Corrin Van Lanen; 56.29
3-meter diving: Nicole Hughes; 226.43

Ohio swim and dive travel to Eastern Michigan as they are coming off their 14th consecutive Mid-American Conference dual meet win over the Toledo Rockets on Friday (Oct. 26) with a score of 156-112. Highlighting the Eagles efforts in their first weekend of MAC Conference dual meets were Nicole Swartz, Stephanie Johnston, and Delaney Duncan, all of which swept their events gathering six combined event titles, as well as Casey Gavigan who finished first in two events and Meike Staffeldt and Sophia Tsafantakis who recorded first event wins of the year. Swartz won the 500-yard freestyle and the 1000-yard freestyle, Duncan won the 100-yard and 200-yard breaststroke and Johnston won the 50-yard freestyle and the 100-yard freestyle. Gavigan finished first in the 100-yard and 200-yard backstroke while Staffeldt won the 200-yard freestyle for the Eagles. On the diving side for the Eagles, Tsafantakis registered a 3-meter dive win.

The Bobcats last dual against Eastern Michigan was in the 2016-17 season where Ohio fell to the Eagles, 178-122, at Ohio University Aquatic Center in Athens, Ohio on Oct. 29, 2016. The meet concluded with Ohio winning two first-place finishes both by Van Lanen.

Swim Event Winners for Ohio
50-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen; 23.28
100-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen; 50.93

200-yard medley relay
1000-yard freestyle
200-yard freestyle
100-yard backstroke
100-yard breaststroke
200-yard butterfly
50-yard freestyle
3-meter diving
100-yard freestyle
200-yard backstroke
200-yard breaststroke
500-yard freestyle
100-yard butterfly
1-meter diving
200-yard IM
400-yard freestyle relay

The live stats for Ohio and Eastern Michigan dual meet will be available through the link provided below.


Head coach Mason Norman begins his first season at the helm of the Ohio swimming and diving team.  Norman, a native of Duluth, Ga., competed as a student-athlete at Wingate, accumulating 22 All-American honors, a spot on the NCAA Division II national championship 400 free relay team in 2010 and competed in the 2012 Olympic Trials in the 100-meter freestyle. Entering his coaching career, Norman was a graduate assistant before being promoted to interim assistant coach at the University of Tennessee proceeded on to a short time at Utah before he joined the Kentucky staff, where he spent his previous five years, his final year as the associate head coach.

Britni Fisher begins her stint as the new diving coach, while Carlye Ellis begins her time as the new assistant swim and coach.

Fisher, a former diver at Illinois, spent two years as a graduate assistant at Bryant prior to joining the Ohio staff. Fisher's second season at Bryant saw the women's swimming and diving program capture the NEC Championship crown for the first time in program history. She currently holds the Illinois school records for the one-meter (298.27) and three-meter (319.65) springboards and maintains the third highest platform score (162.80). Fisher is a four-time varsity letter winner, a four-time Illini Outstanding Diver of the Year and qualified for the NCAA Zone Championships.

Ellis, a Texas four-time varsity letter winner, two-time NCAA Division I All-American and Big 12 champion, spent three years as the assistant swimming and diving coach at Cornell prior to joining Ohio's staff. In just three seasons, Ellis helped Cornell swimmers rewrite the school's record book setting new school records in more than 10 individual events and in three relay events. Additionally, Cornell posted 70 times that rank among the top 10 all-time fastest swims along with three relay records and 22 other times that have joined the list.

Ohio returns seniors Emily Davis (Lexington, Ky.), Olivia Dillon (Newcastle, Aus.), Ana Henderson (Danville, Calif.), Mackenzie Hornstra (Naperville, Ill.), Nicole Hughes (Cleveland, Ohio), Emily Ortner (Concord, Calif.), Corrin Van Lanen (Green Bay, Wis.), Lexie White (Waxhaw, N.C.), and Maddie Wyke (Columbus, Ind.). 

This year's junior class of returners consists of Mackenzie Caruthers (Hilliard, Ohio), Annie Gosselin (Naperville, Ill.), Emilia Lahtinen (Ylojarvi, Finland), Ireland Littlejohn (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Katherine Redden (Fort Thomas, Ky.), and Ryleigh Tuck-Macalla (Bay Village, Ohio).

Sophomores include: Carolyn Bischoff (New Hudson, Mich.), Katherine Garrity (Eagan, Minn.), Samantha Glass (Villa Hills, Ky.), Abigail Jordan (West Chester, Ohio), Katelyn O'Brien (Williams Bay, Wis.), and Hannah Schlegel (Birdsboro, Pa.).

Ohio welcomes eight freshmen to the roster to begin the season. Athena Aravantinou (Bethesda, Md.), Madison Haschemeyer (Springfield, Ill.), Taylor Miller (Latrobe, Pa.), Madeline Kenyon (Dayton, Ohio), Rebekah Klem (Columbiana, Ohio), Kelsey Morgan (Pickerington, Ohio), Chloe Pace (Naperville, Ill.) and Kendra Sheehan (Columbus, Ohio), will all make their collegiate debut for Ohio this season.

Ohio also welcomes two transfer junior's Chastity Haxton (Englewood, Fla.) and Courtney Perrett (Durban, South Africa), both coming to Ohio from Indian River State College in Florida. 

After the conclusion of this meet, the Bobcats will travel a short distance to Columbus, Ohio to compete in the Ohio State Invitational beginning on Thursday, Nov. 15th and lasting through Saturday, Nov. 17th. The Buckeyes will play host to 10 teams at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion including Kentucky, Notre Dame, the Indiana State women, West Virginia, Kenyon, Stanford women, Yale, Penn State, Pitt as well as Ohio.