$restriction.code /sports/wswimdive/2018-19/releases/20181113k2cbu5

Ohio Swim and Dive Takes On 2018 Ohio State Invitational To Kick-Off Invitational Season

Ohio Swim and Dive Takes On 2018 Ohio State Invitational To Kick-Off Invitational Season

ATHENS, Ohio – The Ohio swimming and diving team (1-2, 0-2 MAC) will travel to Columbus, Ohio to compete in the 2018 Ohio State Invitational (Nov. 15-17), its first invitational meet of the 2018-19 season, at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The Ohio State Invitational is set to begin with preliminary events at 10 a.m. on Thursday, Nov. 15th with swimming finals set for 5 p.m. and diving finals set for 6:15 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16th, will follow the same set schedule. The final day of competition, Saturday, Nov. 17th, will begin at 10 a.m. with finals set for 5 p.m.

"The invite at OSU is our most important meet of the season behind the MAC Championship meet," said first-year head coach Mason Norman. "We have an opportunity to be in the water and on the board competing with the best teams in the country including some ranked in the top 25 nationally. Our goal this week is to swim best times and position ourselves for the championship meet in February. The strategy behind competing at this meet has always been to race the best and raise our expectations as a program. We have an opportunity to showcase our team culture and reap the reward for the work that we have put in thus far. I'm really really excited to see how our team performs on this stage."

Results, Psych sheets, heat sheet sale information, fan parking, team rosters, and the schedule of events can all be found HERE.

Live results will be available HERE.
The meet will be streamed on BTN2Go with separate links for men's swimming, women's swimming, and diving streams for the morning session, as they will all be in different pools. The evening session stream is both men and women, with diving shown when available during breaks. 
The Bobcats traveled to Ypsilanti, Michigan for their second Mid-American Conference dual meet of the 2018-19 season where they unfortunately came up short to undefeated Eastern Michigan (190-110). Ohio is now 1-2 overall and 0-2 in the MAC. Event winners for the meet included freshman swimmer Madison Haschemeyer (Springfield, Ill.), sophomore swimmer, Samantha Glass (Villa Hills, Ky.) senior swimmer, Corrin Van Lanen (Green Bay, Wis.), and junior swimmer, Emilia Lahtinen (Ylojarvi, Finland).
Event Winners
200-yard freestyle: Madison Haschemeyer; 1:54.07
200-yard butterfly: Samantha Glass; 2:03.79
50-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen; 23.81
100-yard freestyle: Corrin Van Lanen: 52.14
200-yard breaststroke: Emilia Lahtinen; 2:20.61
100-yard butterfly: Corrin Van Lanen; 56.32
Thursday (Nov. 15)
200-yard freestyle relay
500-yard freestyle
200- yard IM
400-yard medley relay
Men's 1-meter diving
Women's 3-meter diving
Friday (Nov 16)
200-yard medley relay
100-yard butterfly
400-yard IM
200-yard freestyle
100-yard breaststroke
100-yard backstroke
800-yard freestyle relay
Women's 1-meter diving
Men's 3-meter diving
Saturday (Nov 17)
1650-yard freestyle
200-yard backstroke
100-yard freestyle
200-yard breaststroke
200-yard butterfly
400-yard freestyle relay
Head coach Mason Norman begins his first season at the helm of the Ohio swimming and diving team.  Norman, a native of Duluth, Ga., competed as a student-athlete at Wingate, accumulating 22 All-American honors, a spot on the NCAA Division II national championship 400 free relay team in 2010 and competed in the 2012 Olympic Trials in the 100-meter freestyle. Entering his coaching career, Norman was a graduate assistant before being promoted to interim assistant coach at the University of Tennessee proceeded on to a short time at Utah before he joined the Kentucky staff, where he spent his previous five years, his final year as the associate head coach.

Britni Fisher begins her stint as the new diving coach, while Carlye Ellis begins her time as the new assistant swim and coach.

Fisher, a former diver at Illinois, spent two years as a graduate assistant at Bryant prior to joining the Ohio staff. Fisher's second season at Bryant saw the women's swimming and diving program capture the NEC Championship crown for the first time in program history. She currently holds the Illinois school records for the one-meter (298.27) and three-meter (319.65) springboards and maintains the third highest platform score (162.80). Fisher is a four-time varsity letter winner, a four-time Illini Outstanding Diver of the Year and qualified for the NCAA Zone Championships.

Ellis, a Texas four-time varsity letter winner, two-time NCAA Division I All-American and Big 12 champion, spent three years as the assistant swimming and diving coach at Cornell prior to joining Ohio's staff. In just three seasons, Ellis helped Cornell swimmers rewrite the school's record book setting new school records in more than 10 individual events and in three relay events. Additionally, Cornell posted 70 times that rank among the top 10 all-time fastest swims along with three relay records and 22 other times that have joined the list.

Ohio returns seniors Emily Davis (Lexington, Ky.), Olivia Dillon (Newcastle, Aus.), Ana Henderson (Danville, Calif.), Mackenzie Hornstra (Naperville, Ill.), Nicole Hughes (Cleveland, Ohio), Emily Ortner (Concord, Calif.), Corrin Van Lanen (Green Bay, Wis.), Lexie White (Waxhaw, N.C.), and Maddie Wyke (Columbus, Ind.). 

This year's junior class of returners consists of Mackenzie Caruthers (Hilliard, Ohio), Annie Gosselin (Naperville, Ill.), Emilia Lahtinen (Ylojarvi, Finland), Ireland Littlejohn (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Katherine Redden (Fort Thomas, Ky.), and Ryleigh Tuck-Macalla (Bay Village, Ohio).

Sophomores include: Carolyn Bischoff (New Hudson, Mich.), Katherine Garrity (Eagan, Minn.), Samantha Glass (Villa Hills, Ky.), Abigail Jordan (West Chester, Ohio), Katelyn O'Brien (Williams Bay, Wis.), and Hannah Schlegel (Birdsboro, Pa.).

Ohio welcomes eight freshmen to the roster to begin the season. Athena Aravantinou (Bethesda, Md.), Madison Haschemeyer (Springfield, Ill.), Taylor Miller (Latrobe, Pa.), Madeline Kenyon (Dayton, Ohio), Rebekah Klem (Columbiana, Ohio), Kelsey Morgan (Pickerington, Ohio), Chloe Pace (Naperville, Ill.) and Kendra Sheehan (Columbus, Ohio), will all make their collegiate debut for Ohio this season.

Ohio also welcomes two transfer junior's Chastity Haxton (Englewood, Fla.) and Courtney Perrett (Durban, South Africa), both coming to Ohio from Indian River State College in Florida.

After the conclusion of this Invitational, the Bobcats will have the rest of 2018 to prepare for their next return to action taking place in January of 2019. The first dual of the new year will include Ohio divers only traveling to Buffalo, N.Y, to compete in the Buffalo Diving Invitational beginning on Friday, January 11th and lasting through Sunday, January 13th. This three-day, all day, event will be held at Alumni Arena Natatorium.

Ohio swim and dive will join forces for the first time in the 2019 year in Toledo, Ohio where the Bobcats will compete in its third MAC Conference dual meet against Toledo on Friday, January 18th. This meet is set to begin at 4:30 p.m. EST at the Toledo Student Recreation Center Pool.